Fireworks Safety

Share this page:

Fireworks are never safe!

The Colorado Springs Fire Department wants to remind our community that fireworks are always illegal in the city limits. All types of fireworks with a fuse and requiring a flame for ignition are unlawful. Only novelty items (snappers and poppers) are allowed.

Professional public firework displays are regulated and permitted upon approval from the Division of the Fire Marshal under the city code. A fire started by a firework that threatens or damages property is a crime of arson. Possession, use and/or sale of fireworks is subject to a fine up to $2,500 and/or up-to 189 days in jail. All citations will demand a mandatory court appearance in municipal court.

The law in the state of Colorado is very specific relating to fireworks, reckless burning, and arson, regardless of where the offense occurs. One thought to consider is that a child can be arrested in Colorado at the age of ten for setting a fire even if he/she did not mean for the fire to damage anything or get out of control. Children ten years of age or older can be arrested for any one of these statutes.

In an effort to keep our community safe, the CSPD officers and CSFD fire investigators will confiscate fireworks that are found and issue citations to those in possession of illegal fireworks.

LOCAL FACT: Fireworks are illegal to purchase, possess, or use within the city limits of Colorado Springs.

Things to remember

  • On Independence Day in a typical year, far more U.S. fires are reported than on any other day, and fireworks account for two out of five of those fires, more than any other cause of fires.
  • If you want to see fireworks, go to a public show put on by experts.
  • Do not use consumer fireworks.
  • Keep a close eye on children at events where fireworks are used.
  • The risk of fireworks injury is highest for young people ages 15-24, followed by children under 10.
  • Nationwide, more than 16,000 reported fires are started by fireworks annually.

How to report fireworks

  • If you hear or witness the use of fireworks being used by a neighbor, call 444-7000.
  • Only call 9-1-1 in the event of an injury or fire.
  • When you call either of the numbers, ALWAYS stay on the line until a call taker answers.

You can download and print the Fireworks SafetySpot for more information.